Anchor Baby
Anchor Baby – the audio
From Influencer to Influenced | How Much Did I Spend Last Week? Sep 5-11, 2022
0:00
-14:43

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Anchor Baby

From Influencer to Influenced | How Much Did I Spend Last Week? Sep 5-11, 2022

3

I spoke recently on Instagram about how I was considering going back to the world of influencing, not just because I miss freebies (I do) but because it’s a platform that I could be using as part of my job to earn money while working with brands I like (still holding out for that Diet Coke partnership…).

In my head, I was thinking of this as the influencer 2.0 phase of my life but, as it happens, since I shared those stories my posts have absolutely tanked – and as they have done so, I have found myself influenced to buy… a lot of stuff. Almost everything I bought this week was due to some influencer or other (as I type this I am completing the purchase of Sarah aka @thebirdspapaya’s new Knix collaboration leggings).

Maybe I need to just accept that I am a failed influencer – but a very successful influencee.

Monday

It’s Labor Day! I have to look up what it means, but it’s something to do with honouring the efforts and achievements of the labor (labour) movement in the US. It’s weird to me that there’s a whole holiday for this when I feel as though America, as a whole, is very anti-union, and the labour movement and the union movement seem, to me, to be one and the same.

Perhaps this is a blatant misunderstanding.

My Hulu subscription comes out ($21.98) – and I get an email to let me know that the baseline sub is increasing! I immediately (v unlike me) go online to unsubscribe from Starz, an add-on I selected so that I could watch Outlander, which started off so great (and so raunchy) but has got very crap, due in part to the ridiculous “ageing” of its characters, who are meant to have got approximately 30 years older throughout the seasons, but also due to the addition of awful characters like ROGER, who I truly wish had been hanged for real. (Fans will get it.)

A freelance piece that had been due today has been postponed to next week, which is, on the one hand, shit because it means I will get paid for it a week later but also good because I am exhausted and totally frazzled and had entirely forgotten it was a day off for Brandin and the boys, meaning we’re all at the house together.

When Atlas goes down for his morning nap, I take the boys over to Bea’s for the afternoon so they can play with their cousins while Bea and I do a jigsaw, drink tea and repeat the words “stop SHOUTING” over and over. So relaxing!

Daily total: $21.98

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Anchor Baby to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.