Anchor Baby
Anchor Baby – the audio
I Spend the Most When I Buy Nothing At All | How Much Did I Spend Last Week? July 4-10, 2022
0:00
-7:54

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Anchor Baby

I Spend the Most When I Buy Nothing At All | How Much Did I Spend Last Week? July 4-10, 2022

Vinny gets a wash, I take a trip to the dump and oh, we have a party to celebrate our wedding!
1
Awaiting the fireworks

Monday

It’s the 4th of July! Something something something American independence from the British. Surely there should be some massive day of celebration for all of us who have, at some stage or another, managed to wrest our countries back from the hands of the Brits. Perhaps, now that we know that the whole snakes thing isn’t true, we could repurpose St Patrick’s Day?! (I jest, I jest. That day is about us, not them.) Anyway.

We’re having a festive July 4th barbecue in our house later on, en famille, but there’s work to do first so I head over to Bea’s to record the podcast in the morning.

Right before we start recording I get a call from RTÉ’s Drivetime to ask if I’d come on the radio to discuss the Irish relationship to and with America, and while I first think I’ll say no – so last minute! and I’m busy! aren’t I? – my sister convinces me, and I end up doing it. You can listen back here.

Then I head home to prepare for dinner – we do burgers and hot dogs and I make some little baby potatoes and Brandin makes macaroni salad and red, white and blue cupcakes (I mean, Americans) and we have altogether too much food but it’s really nice, and our neighbours put on an excellent fireworks display once the sun sets, which we catch most of before we head to bed as Brandin’s up for work tomorrow morning.

Have I mentioned my husband’s habit of getting up at 4.30am each and every morning, for a departure time of 6.30am?! It is WILD to me that he would rob himself of that extra 90 minutes in bed, but here we are – he says he likes to have time to cook himself a decent breakfast and play some computer games before work. Wild.

In what is a very unAmerican turn of events, I manage to spend nothing today – but worry not, the rest of the week is about to make up for it.

Daily total: $0

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Anchor Baby to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.