Anchor Baby
Anchor Baby – the audio
It's The Most Wonderful Cinnamon Roll of the Year | How Much Did I Spend Last Week? March 21-27, 2022
0:00
-9:33

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Anchor Baby

It's The Most Wonderful Cinnamon Roll of the Year | How Much Did I Spend Last Week? March 21-27, 2022

Or, at least one of them is.
Read Anchor Baby in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

I have friends now! And a social life! And an addiction to cinnamon rolls that is perhaps not the best development ever but listen, I’ll take it!

Monday

If there’s one thing I would say about myself, it’s that I cannot resist the allure – geddit – of a good beauty subscription. Today I trade in my Fetch Rewards points for a subscription to Allure magazine, and when I commit to the subscription I am offered some kind of bargain (unclear what it was) to sign up for the Allure Beauty Box, a beauty subscription that promises Sunday Riley! SOLD, as they say in all good auction houses, for the bargain price of $30-odd. ($33.17)

With my Monday off to a very bargainous start – I have frequently considered becoming an extreme couponer, or at least, I’ve thought, that could be fun – I spend the rest of the morning spending absolutely nothing and cuddling my baby.

It also happens to be a beautiful, sunny day, so I’m delighted that I’ve made plans to meet my friend Sydney for lunch at Utopian Coffee on the Landing, a pedestrianised area downtown with lots of outdoor seating.

Sydney owns S. Pacula Jewelry, where Brandin and I bought our wedding bands, and from which I now wish to buy several beautiful gold pieces but am – because I’m frugal now, see above – biding my time.

A post shared by Sydney Pacula (@spaculajewelry)

This is not my ring, FYI, but I kind of wish it was…

I have a Cobb salad, which is delicious, an iced coffee and a sparkling water. ($23.50)

I’m a big fan of a good Cobb salad, a preference developed first in Gotham Café on South Anne St which, if I recall correctly, used to offer a very good version. Gotham was the place to be for a while there, when I’d go into town to meet a friend who had left our school at the end of fifth year to attend Bruce College, in the hopes of getting himself a better Leaving Cert result than he would have in the community school I attended. (Did he? Who knows, honestly. But I was very jealous. He got to go to school in town and seemed very cosmopolitan altogether.)

For dinner, remembering the success of last time – I know, disappointment imminent, cue foreboding music – we order Salvatori’s for everyone. ($63.67) Of course, nothing is as it was last time, say the children. The pasta sauce is spicy! The bread sticks are mushy! We don’t want this! KIDS.

Once they’re safely tucked into their beds, we watch one episode of Raised by Wolves. So. Many. Questions.

Daily total: $120.34

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Anchor Baby to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.