Anchor Baby
Anchor Baby – the audio
Leopard Print is a Neutral | How Much Did I Spend Last Week? March 14-20, 2022
0:00
-11:29

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Anchor Baby

Leopard Print is a Neutral | How Much Did I Spend Last Week? March 14-20, 2022

This is the hill I'm willing to die on.

Every now and then I check to see what’s new on the Nike site – honestly, because Nike offers one of the highest commissions and has the highest click-through rate of any product or site I’ve ever linked to, meaning that, when I share things from Nike, people share them and I make a few bob (around 10%)!

Of course, every now and then I check to see what’s new on the Nike site and I find what look like the perfect runners. Right now, the criteria for this is – and this applies to all clothing I consider buying – “what would Joanne McNally wear?!”

I am incredibly jealous of anyone who’s managed to see The Prosecco Express at Vicar St, which several friends have described to me as “hen party vibes” with one friend in particular saying, “it’s the hen party we all needed as a reward for the last two years”.

Anyway, that’s the long-but-short story behind how and why I ended up buying the above runners, which I undoubtedly did not need but definitely love. (I wore them today and someone I consider very sound and stylish said, “I love those sneakers!” so obviously now I feel vindicated in my decision.)

Share Anchor Baby

Monday

I receive a book in the post today that I pledged for on Unbound around the time that I was contracted to write my book, This is Not About You, and I think to myself, this could be me… if I could just finish that damn book. So I decide to ask Don if he’ll watch Atlas for a few hours on Wednesday so that I can go and do a few hours’ work in a cafe downtown. I feel a newfound sense of motivation and determination!

This does not extend to today, however, which is Monday and so it is spent, as all Mondays are, of late, Getting Through It.

Atlas doesn’t wake up until 9.50am – I blame Daylight Savings, honestly, and I’m so happy about it – so the day is half gone before it’s even started. (Rest assured: he still woke up four times throughout the night.)

I make myself bacon and waffles for breakfast while Atlas boings in his jumperoo, then we switch to his mat and I feed him on my lap, where he falls asleep for two hours. (Babies sure can sleep!)

While he’s asleep, my payment for Uber One – free delivery on Uber Eats – comes out. Why am I paying this?! I already have Doordash paid up to June or July of this year or something, and I very rarely use Uber Eats… WAIT. I use Uber Eats for Starbucks! ($9.99)

I realise, as I write this, that I haven’t ordered Starbucks on Uber Eats in weeks. WEEKS! I’m a changed woman! (Please do not check my money diaries as I’m sure you will see it’s only been a week or something.) I should just cancel it, shouldn’t I? I should.

In the afternoon, I strap Atlas into the Baby Bjorn and we go for a short walk with Vinny. My hip is very sore. I feel very old and unfit but mostly old. Vinny does three separate poos, requiring, three separate times, that I squat down with the baby in the Baby Bjorn and pick up said poos. This is not a straightforward, or in any way graceful, operation. I regret this walk.

When Brandin and the boys get home, Brandin makes an orange chicken recipe he found… online? I must ask him. It’s delicious. After last week’s kitchen disasters he has to do all the cooking now, so it’s a good thing he’s good at it.

It’s the first of a two-night Bachelor finale and my new friend Hannah comes over to watch it with me. Brandin bakes us cookies! So nice. The Bachelor itself is awful. Awful, awful. I’m also enraged because I thought it was finishing tonight and we have to leave it on a cliffhanger to see the true ending tomorrow! Ridiculous.

But it’s so nice to have a friend over to watch TV with! Let’s be honest, it’s so nice to have a friend. Here’s to more of this, please!

Daily total: $9.99

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Anchor Baby to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.