Anchor Baby
Anchor Baby – the audio
Thank God for DoorDash | How Much Did I Spend Last Week? Aug 1-7, 2022
0:00
-9:54

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Anchor Baby

Thank God for DoorDash | How Much Did I Spend Last Week? Aug 1-7, 2022

The answer is TOO EFFING MUCH, let me tell you.
3

I’ll say this for nothing: this is the least enjoyable payweek of my life. You’ll soon see why.

Monday

In hindsight, I can see the portents of a bad week from the very earliest hours of Monday when, delighted with my organisation, I pay off the $25 I had somehow managed to owe to a debt collector, as a result of my not paying a medical bill.

In my defence: I had given the wrong insurance information to my doctor, tried to change it (and gave the wrong information again), and had it in my head to talk to them the next time I went in. Except that I didn’t go back in for a few months and, well, clearly they really needed the money.

Anyway! That’s how my week starts, by paying a penalty for an unpaid bill and feeling good about ticking it off my to-do list. Atlas is also very impressed.

After his morning nap, we tick some more off our to-do list by heading to Kroger to look for my favourite bread (unsuccessful) and stock up on some essentials. ($73.91)

Then I decide to go over to Bea’s – she’s off this week, because the family was planning on going on vacation, but Don’s grandmother died and Don had to fly to Florida and everyone’s plans have been upended so I’m going to hang out with the boys and tell hilarious jokes to distract them from the fact that they should be in a waterpark.

WELL! You can imagine how hilarious it is when, as I walk from the pool to the house in preparation for the imminent arrival of our BurgerFi dinner, I take some kind of weird step and… fracture my fibula. You couldn’t make it up.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Anchor Baby to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.